top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe

My Favourite Art-Of Books


Even before I knew I wanted to get into film I've been obsessed with big, glossy art-of books.


I'm talking, full page pictures and sketches on thick paper, a foreword that I probably won't read if it's over a page, on-set snapshots, concept art, posters, storyboards, colour schemes and costume designs all wrapped up in a gorgeous shiny cover under a dust jacket which I will try, and fail, to keep pristine. It has become a bit of a tradition for me to receive one of these every year for christmas or my birthday and over the years I've built up quite a collection.


The film doesn't have to even be good for me to enjoy it's art book. Sometimes an idea can be better than the execution and it's great to look through and appreciate the work of artists who rarely get their time in the limelight. This includes: costume designers, art directors, hair and makeup, prop makers, storyboard artists, concept artists, model makers, on-set photographers and set designers. I think it's also important to see the process each of these people has to go through. Multiple drafts, sketches and alterations until they arrive at the finished product. Even people who have been in the industry for decades won't be happy with their first sketch.


On with the list!


1. Guillermo Del Toro: Cabinet of Curiosities

Guillermo Del Toro is one of the most creative directors working today. His mind seems to be a never-ending ideas machine as can be seen in his countless sketches, designs and scribblings like the notebook of a mad scientist from another planet. Instead of focusing on just one film, Cabinet of Curiosities dives into the inspirations, passions and process of the man himself with accompanying interviews. Each of his most well known films is split into notebooks so you can see an idea from conception to reality.


What I love about this book is that most of the art in it is Guillermo's own and he speaks openly about what has influenced him, demystifying his ideas and likening it more to a child who's just been given a new pack of pens and wants to draw monsters.


2. Star Wars: The Ultimate Visual Guide

It all had to start somewhere... for me in was in 2007 with an art book I don't even think is still available anymore. This was before the Clone Wars series had gained any success and the merge with Disney so I wouldn't be surprised if all you can buy now is a heavily updated version.


What I loved about it so much, and still do, is how much of the universe it explores outside the films. There aren't just concept drawings of characters I knew, but of species and people we never even see. It's littered with comic book panels and timeline diagrams of historical galactic events, and the text was big and simple enough for me to read on my own, which I did... every night for a month I think...


Less behind the scenes and more pretty pictures with a bit of text telling you what the picture is. This book ignited my curiosity and still brings me joy.


3. Rocketman: Inside The World of The Film

Rocketman is a damn good looking film and one of my favourite things about it is the costume design. Granted, this book doesn't go into as much detail as I would have liked but it is packed with beautiful photography, set pictures, and input from the actors and director. One of my favourite images is Dexter Fletcher looking a bit done with life talking to Taron Egerton who's trying to look serious in a bejeweled devil outfit.


Production design is everything in this film, from getting the era right, to creating the bombastic fantasy musical numbers and Julian Day's incredible costumes. It's a super stylish, glossy picture book and the cast and crew seem so genuinely excited about it. The actors also talk about their fears going into a role, something you don't often hear about when everyone is quite literally singing their praises.


4. Firefly: A Celebration

Best birthday present ever! Thank you Chris! What makes this brick of a behind the scenes book so special is that it's a celebration of a series that initially failed. While it is full of the usual designs and photography there is a lot more text in this one discussing on-set issues, wrestling with studios and budget constraints which led to dramatic creative changes.


Not to mention the book also has the original scripts in their entirety including scripts from the abandoned season 2. It is truly a celebration of what was and could have been. This book leaves no stone unturned and acts as a 541 page love letter to fans.


5. Harry Potter: Film Wizardry

Harry Potter was the series that got me interested in the process of filmmaking and a large proportion of that was down to this book. I have had it for ten years and the spine is sun bleached, but everything inside it is pristine.


This is the perfect art-of book. Extracts from several director's production logs, interviews with neglected cast members over stars and the most detailed description of the production design process than any of the previously mentioned books. Even better it has pop ups and take outs! There's a printed marauders map, a yule baul ticket and a potions book kept nice in tissue paper pouches. What I love most is how this book is designed. So much care and attention has been put into making every page look amazing.


6. The Art Of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

I didn't love the film adaptation of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, I think it's fine but didn't live up to my love of the books or graphic novels. As with all Tim Burton films though, the art book is incredible and imaginative in every way you could have hopped. From bringing the creepy vintage photographs in Ransom Riggs novel to life to casting and locations. You wouldn't be mistaken for wondering why the finished film turned out so mediocre when they were clearly working with such talented artists.


An element I really liked in the film was a scene using stop motion animation which gets a few pages to itself.


7. The Art Of Avengers Infinity War

In an early meeting about Infinity War, Kevin Feige said he wanted the concept art to push the limits of anything they'd ever done before. Until Endgame, Infinity War was the biggest film ever made. An accumulation of 21 films set across an expanded universe with a huge cast and top of the line technology.


Until the Guardians of the Galaxy films I'd never been particularly impressed with the colours and production design of Marvel films, they always felt flat and grey. Infinity War in my opinion is the best looking of all the Avengers films. Like a comic come to life (how it should be). What I like about this book is how it shows multiple different variations of tiny details, like the shape and size of the stones on Thanos' glove or the shade of red of Red Skull's head. The merge of 2D and 3D concept art is something none of the other books are able to explore.


8. Avatar The Last Airbender: Art Of The Animated Series

Ok so this one is my favourite. The Last Airbender is a series that defined my childhood and love of adventure stories. I treasure this book.


Full of sketches, animation cels, inspiration and background art with some great retrospective annotations by the creators. It's just a beautiful book. Not too busy but with enough pictures and text to dip in and out at will. When I got it I read it cover to cover in one night. It's divided into three sections, one for each season and the art gets more impressive as it goes on.


I hope you've been inspired to check out some of these art books. I've loved re-visiting them for this post and can see myself owning a library of them in future!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page